Monday, June 21, 2010

Ethiopiques - Vol. 7 Mahmoud Ahmed - Ere Mela Mela (1999)

Another great volume of Ethiopiques! Volume 7 of Ethiopiques series is another expanded re-issue of an LP by Mahmoud Ahmed originally released in 1975. Though there seems to be an abundance of songs by Ahmed from 1975 on volumes 1 and 3, we can't find any overlap with the songs on this album. The songs are the same sort of fusion of American soul and jazz with shuffling rhythms of Ethiopian music. Features "Belomi Benna" and "Bemen Sebeb Letlash".

01 Sidetegnash negn/Samiraye
02 Indenesh gedaow
03 Bemin sebeb litlash
04 Abay mado/Imbwa belew
05 Atawurulign lela
06 Ohoho gedama
07 Ere mela mela/Meche neu
08 Fetsum dink lij nesh
09 Belomy benna
10 Asheweyna
11 Mèdjèmèrya Feqrey
12 Kasalèfqut Hulu


marram62 said...

majorcurry said...

Hey JFS. thanks i look forward to hearing these Ethiopiques!

bobbysu said...

thank you very much