Monday, June 21, 2010

Ethiopiques Vol 6 - Mahmoud Ahmed: Almaz (1973)

Volume 6 of the fantastic Ethiopiques series is an expanded re-issue of the first lp by Mahmoud Ahmed plus his first single from 1971. While not as clearly influenced by American soul and jazz, there are a few funky cuts that are pretty nice! Most of these songs flow with a groove unique to Ethiopian music -- and although Ahmed's songs appear throughout the Ethiopiques series, only one of these songs appears on other volumes ("Kulun Mankwalesh"). With the groovy "Nafqot New Yegodagn" and "Yasdestal".

01. Almaz Men Eda Nèw
02. Asha Gèdawo
03. Tchebo Aymolam
04. Feqer Endègèna
05. Ambassel
06. Zèmèdié
07. Kulun Mankwalèsh
08. Mèla Mèla
09. Antchiyé
10. Nafqot Nèw Yègodagn
11. Yasdestal


marram62 said...

Casey said...

you are too cool for sharing
greatly appreciated
will be djng and sharing w/ the public.