Sunday, November 22, 2009

CREAM - Those Were The Days (1997)

THOSE WERE THE DAYS is a four-disc set, the first half consisting of Cream's entire studio output and the last half featuring the band's concert performances. The package includes a 48-page booklet full of previously unpublished photos.
Cream: Jack Bruce (vocals, acoustic guitar, cello, harmonica, piano, organ, bass); Eric Clapton (vocals, guitar); Ginger Baker (vocals, drums, percussion).
Additional personnel: George Harrison (guitar); Felix Pappalardi (viola, organ, trumpet, tonette, Swiss hand bells, piano, mellotron, bass).
Producers: Robert Stigwood, Felix Pappalardi, Ahmet Ertegun.
Compilation producer: Bill Levenson
Engineers include: John Timperly, Tom Dowd, Adrian Barber.
Includes liner notes by John McDermott.
In the two years they were together, Cream's blend of blues, psychedelic rock and quirky lyricism forever altered the definition of rock music. After releasing four seminal albums, Cream broke up as quickly as they had come together, with all three members going on to solo careers of varying artistic and commercial success. THOSE WERE THE DAYS brings together Cream's musical output in a deluxe four-CD set that's neatly halved between studio and live material.
Meticulously compiled and remastered, DAYS includes every studio recording the band ever released, as well as previously unreleased demos, masters, rare and alternate takes. The live half of the box set is primarily culled from seminal performances at legendary venues like San Francisco's Winterland and Fillmore West.
The sound has been considerably cleaned up allowing the listener to hear every nuance of these extended flights of jazz-flavored blues-rock improvisation. The package surrounding Cream's timeless musical output sports a DISRAELI GEARS-style day-glo cover and a 48-page color book. The accompanying notes, complemented by dozens of previously unpublished photos, provide an intimate glimpse into the brief, but groundbreaking career of the original power trio.


marram62 said...

01. Wrapping Paper
02. I Feel Free
03. N.S.U.
04. Sleepy Time Time
05. Dreaming
06. Sweet Wine
07. Spoonful
08. Cat's Squirrel
09. Four Until Late
10. Rollin' And Tumblin'
11. I'm So Glad
12. Toad
13. Lawdy Mama (previously unreleased, version 1)
14. Strange Brew
15. Sunshine Of Your Love
16. World Of Pain
17. Dance The Night Away
18. Blue Condition
19. Tales Of Brave Ulysses
20. Swlabr
21. We're Going Wrong
22. Outside Woman Blues
23. Take It Back
24. Mother's Lament
01. White Room
02. Sitting On Top Of The World
03. Passing he Time - (alternate take)
04. As You Said
05. Pressed Rat And Warthog
06. Politician
07. Those Were The Days
08. Born Under A Bad Sign
09. Deserted Cities Of The Heart
10. Anyone For Tennis
11. Badge
12. Doing That Scrapyard Thing
13. What A Bringdown
14. Coffee Song, The
15. Lawdy Mama - (version 2)
16. You Make Me Feel (previously unreleased, demo version)
17. We're Going Wrong (previously unreleased, demo version)
18. Hey Now Princess (previously unreleased, demo version)
19. Swlabr (previously unreleased, demo version)
20. Weird Of Hermiston (previously unreleased, demo version)
21. The Clearout (previously unreleased, demo version)
22. Falstaff Beer Commercial (previously unreleased)
01. N.S.U. (previously unreleased, unedited version)
02. Sleepy Time Time
03. Rollin' And Tumblin'
04. Crossroads
05. Spoonful
06. Tales Of Brave Ulysses
07. Sunshine Of Your Love
08. Sweet Wine
01. White Room
02. Politician
03. I'm So Gad
04. Sitting On Top Of The World
05. Stepping Out
06. Traintime
07. Toad (previously unreleased, extended version)
08. Deserted Cities Of The Heart
09. Sunshine Of Your Love (previously unreleased, from "the Glen Campbell Show"

marram62 said...

censusloss said...

Dear Marram, a big thanks goes out to you for this post, giving me, at least , the chance to re-evaluate a group that so many think they know all about, but don't !


Hec_The_Wreck said...

These links are shot :(